BOTSWANA DIVIDED INTO 9 COVID-19 ZONES- Government  Extraordinary Paper

President Dr Mokgweetsi Masisi had imposed a 21-day lockdown to combat coronavirus outbreak on 2nd of April and as per schedule, the lockdown will be lifted after May 07  midnight.

The government of Botswana has divided the country into 9 COVID-19 zones to ease the nationwide lockdown — in place to curb the spread of the novel coronavirus disease (COVID-19)

As the 21-day nationwide lockdown to combat coronavirus outbreak is nearing its end, the government is mulling over easing restrictions and dividing state in diffrent covid 9 zones.

The state governments will be allowed to set restrictions on various facilities and services according to the coronavirus level risk in those areas.

Both essential and non-essential services expected to resume some zones but social distancing will be exercised. However, Alcohol and tobacco sale  will continue to remain suspended across the country.

Coronavirus cases in Botswana as of May 05  were at 23 confirmed cases with 8 recoveries  from deadly virus.


Greater Gaborone- From Dibete to Ramatlabama, kanye and Molepolole.

Greate Francistown – From Ramokwebana ,Gojeane Gate, Dukwi and Mokubilo.

Greater Selibe Phikwe  -From Makoro all the way to Bobirwa up to Sefhophe Gate.

Greater Palapye- From Makoba Gate to Dibete, Makoro, Martins drift and Sefhophe Gate.

Greater Maun- The whole of ngami

Kgalagadi Region- From Jwaneng to Kgalagadi south and North

Ghanzi Region- The whole of Ghanzi region

Chobe region- the whole chobe region up to Zoronga and Dukwi Gate

Boteti region- From Makoba to Makalamabedi , Mokubilo and Kaka.

Follow us for more news

Read Previous

US government contributes P56 million to Botswana COVID-19 response

Read Next

His Grace The Revend Dr B.E Lekganyane’s Z.C.C Has Introduced A Payment Holiday To Support Its Members During Lockdown.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *